Typically, as people age, their bone mass decreases, making them more vulnerable to bone fractures. A recent study concludes that the most effective way to reduce the risk of fractures in later life is to take twice the recommended dose of vitamin D and calcium daily. The three-year study followed a group of French women in their eighties who were nursing home residents. The women were given daily supplements of twice the recommended dose of vitamin D and calcium. In addition, the women participated in a light weightlifting program. After three years, these women showed a much lower rate of hip fractures than is average for their age.

According to the author as people grow older there bone mass decreases and thus making them vulnerable to bone fractures and to prevent bone fractures the most effective way is to double the recommended dose of Vitamin D and calcium daily. The author's conclusion is full of fault and need to be amended on serveral areas until a fine concrete conclusion can be drawn out of it.

Firsty the study's authentication is not given and the scientific norms under which the study was done need to be mentioned when a conclusion is drawn from it. Along with that no records of how the supplements were given to the subjects need to observed carefully. Since when the vitamins is provided via a pill and when its done using the daily edible products it can cause some deviation from the results and thus it can be concluded that a close detailed description of the study need to looked at and then after we can draw a solid conclusion.

Also it is quite absurd that such a wide generalisation is made, assuming the study to be commensurate with the all the scientific norms it is questionable to a large extant that whatever applies for old french women in there eighties must be true for the whole mankind. Since it can be very well true that the way the digestive system of those few french ladies worked and helped them lower the rate of hip fractures might not be the case with a small three old kid beacuse his body might not be able to digest those extra vitamins and it can cause him some major problems. Therefore invading more about different condtions, type of people and different methods can really understand the true functuing of how fracture risks can be lessened.

Thirdly if these women showed much lower rate of hip fractures than what is average for their age doesn't clearly tell us that it reduces fracture risks for all bones and the intake of double vitamin D and calcium was the reason behind it, beacuse there can be several reasons why these women showed less risk towards hip factured, firstly it can be true that doubling the dose of vitamin D and calcium was the reason for it but it cannot be said with authority for all the 206 bones present and also the author has mentioned that during the study these women participated in a light weightlifting program which can also be a reason for the lower risk of hip fracture since it might be passuible that due to lifting of weights and exercising it lowered the rate of risk of hip fractures. Therefore it cannot be clearly stated that all bones are showing less rate of hip fractures than what is average for their age.

Finally it can be concluded that author's conclusion can be easily challenged and we need to dig down a bit more before we can draw any results out of the study.