The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, New Ventures Consulting proposed that HobCo, a chain of hobby shops, build its new project in the city of Grilldon. They suggested the plan according to the a survey, their findings about hobby business in the region and the demography of population of town. The proposal seems convincing at first sight, however, some questions are raised which need to be addressed before serious considertion on the proposal.

There is a crucial question whether othe competitors of HobCo have plan to build a new hobby shop in Grilldon or not. It might be like HobCo, other rivals consider the Grilldon a suitable opportunity to invest and they are planning to construct their new site in this town too. Maybe one of rival companies which attend to Grilldon, is a giant company in hobby industry and if this strong company enter into market, it will grab all market share. In addition, the reaesarch just indicated that there is no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. It did not refer to other areas of town. It is possible, there is some shops in North, South or East of the town and residents go to these shops. To strenghten the argument, it is suggested that the consulting company first, do a comprehensive research on all areas of town and then assesse the prospective plan of competitor companies.

In addition, the reliability and questions of survey are disputable. The author did not provide any information about what percentage of residents took part in survey and what were the questions. They do their research on different areas of town or they just asked a specified region. It might be they went to a place which its residents belong to wealthy people of society and they spend lots of money to entertain, whereas, middle class and poor people live in other parts of city and they do not intend to hobbies. Therefore, the survey could led to biased outcomes. Additionally, the author mentioned a big population of retirees are living in Grilldon, but he did not provide any quantified data. If he could provide demographic data, it was more sensible. What fraction of residents are retired persons. Maybe, these senate people have other hobbies such as they play with their grandchildren. In the context, the author said that “they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon”, it is an ambiguous expression. It is likely that residents are interested to have a hobby shops, while they cannot afford the price. To strengthen the proposal, it is recommended to add some information about the survey, demography and economical situation of the town.

Furthermore, it is claimed that hobby industry skyrocketted during the past decade and he considers it a big opportunity for HobCo. However, there is a vital question about his conclusion. Perhaps, the hobby industry was so weak that after 300 percent growth it considered weak and investing in this industry is not lucrative yet. Or, it is likely tha it was so strong and now it is repleted with companies,thus there is a bloody competition among companies in that region. Also, the boom in hobby industry was happened in region and we cannot deduct that it happened for Grilldon too. It is also a rosy view to predict a steady stream of customers for hobby shops and even if all the predictions happen in the future, there is no guaranty for selling of HobCo. If the author did some research on hobby business in the town, he could strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the argument could be more sensible if the consulting company do a throughout research on rivals and hobby business in past decade in the region, and also add some information about conducted survey and demographic data.