The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s argument that southeastern Grilldon is a good place to open next HobCo Hobby Shop is flawed because of numerous reasons. In the argument, the author does not only draws conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms, but also uses data from a limited sample to make sweeping generalization about an entire population. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of ignoring qualifications of poll participants.

First of all, the author cites that 88 percent of survey attendees would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon, but the author does not mention the number of attendees. Moreover, the author does not provide any data about ages, genders of survey participants. For example, the survey may only be made with women or young residents. As long as the author has no information about features and number of attendees, this argument will stay unconvincing.

Secondly, the argument claims that the hobby industry has increased by 300 percent during the past decade, and, again, the author gives no information about whether the increase is in decaying or growing order. This is important, because if the increase in last years is lower than previous years, it means that people do not spend much time to hobbies as in the past, and hobby shop will probably bankrupt. This scenario seems more plausible as there is no hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon right now.

Finally, the author mentions that there is a very large population of retirees who could spend their time for hobbies in Grilldon. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground as it uses vague terms like very large. In addition, it should have given numerical data about what retirees do in their free time and their health status. For instance, most of the retirees could be living in nursing home. Hence, the argument would have been a lot more convincing for the reader, if the author had provided a concrete report. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of survey attendees. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more about what people love to do in their free time.