"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author's argument that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to atteact more viewers to the program is flawed for several reasons. The author not only draws a conclusion based on unreasoned statements, but also uses limited resources to make sweeping generalization about the entire television station. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of focusing solely on received complaints while ignoring the other possible reasons. Hence, the argument can be cosidered incomplete or unsubstained.

First of all, the author readily assumes that only late-night news caused to decrease in number of viewers. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, other alternative programs could be emerged on other television stations, and they may attract the audience. If the argument explicitly stated that they started to lose significant number of viewers since they have started to devote increased time to national news, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Secondly, the author claims that local busninesses canceled their advertising contract with them. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not constitute any correlation between number of viewers and number of received advertisements. For example, local businesses could have found cheaper TV stations. That can be why they started to cancel their contract with television station. Hence, the argument would have been a lot more convincing if it provided the evidence that local businesses ended their contracts because of the decrease in number of viewers.

Finally, the author cites that they have received a lot of complaints about their station's coverage of weather and local news. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, what were the content of the complaints? Were complaining about the duration of the news or accuracy of the news? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of change in number of viewers since they started to allocate more time for national news. To better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more about why number of viewers started to decay.