The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The author’s argument that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture and observation-centered approach are invalid is flawed. In the argument, the author not only makes the mistake of using experiment in past to refute the Dr. Field’s theory, but also provides insufficient information about the children who were interacted with. Furthermore, the author makes the sweeping generalization about the entire method by evaluating one specific case. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that nothing cultural has changed during twenty years. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, there could be a cultural revolution or migration from other places which would change the children’s way of thinking and dialogues. Even if no cultural change occurs during twenty years, interests and characters of the new generation alternate as time goes by. Hence, the argument would have been a lot more convincing if the author had used one of recent observation-centered experiment about the Tertia kids.

Secondly, the argument claims that author’s recent interviews showed that children spend much more time about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, but the author does not provide any information about the number of talked children or their features such as age, gender, nationality etc. To illustrate further, the author may has talked only with a small group of children who are all from the neighbor island. In this case, author’s conclusion for the experiment would be faulty. If the author had provided the sufficient data about the children, then it would be much more persuasive to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid, since Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid. However, careful scrutiny of the argument reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical aspects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, can the author prove that Dr. Field’s faulty experiment is enough to refute observation-centered approach or what are the criteria of faulty experiment? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of Dr. Field’s experiment. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what are the support points of the author.