To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue of whether one must study major cities of a society to understand its most important characteristics is a contentious one. While each side has its reasonable explanations, I believe that studying major cities of a society is more advantageous as it represents the whole society with less people. Moreover, it provides more data to analyze society’s attitude on different cases, because most of the historical incidents have realized in these cities.

First of all, understanding the most important characteristics of a society requires data from different regions. In this way, one will get healthier results. To illustrate, let us look at the example of universities. Most of the prestigious universities are located in major cities. Since there are students from all over the society in these universities, results derived from studying couple of high ranked universities can be considered as representatives of whole society. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that studying attitudes of people in major cities would give accurate results.

Secondly, studying behavior of people in different cases is essential to understand the most significant characteristics of a society. Reactions of people when they face with unusual events give a lot of hints about the society. In other words, since most of the big events have happened in major cities, it is necessary to analyze events occurred in major cities. A government, for example, follows a wrong path in international relations and fights with neighbor countries. While people of some regions are defending the government’s political steps, others will criticize it. The most important characteristics of a society can be understood by observing reactions of people who live in major cities, since major cities contain people from all around the society.

Admittedly, some may argue that characteristics of a society can be understood by studying only small cities or towns. This is true especially when it comes to small countries or regions. However, this argument does not constitute a sufficient support to generalize this statement for all societies. Kars, for example, a small city with 300k population in eastern Turkey, cannot reflect the characteristics of people live in Istanbul, the most crowded city of Turkey. Hence, this is a weak and unsupported claim.

In conclusion, understanding the characteristics of a society requires enough data from every part of the society. Major cities contain enough number of people from all over the society, and most of the historical events have occurred in major cities. Thus, I agree with the statement that one must study major cities to understand characteristics of a society.