A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or

The issue of whether or not all of the students should study the same curriculum until they enter the college is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses I believe that applying a common curriculum to all schools is impractical for several reasons. Primarily, almost all of the nations have private schools of other countries which have different education languages and systems. Either this system would restrict them to apply their teaching methods or success of the students will decrease. This system, also, closes the doors of specialized high schools.

First of all, there are many kinds of foundation schools which give education in different languages. Additionally, most of them were established to exercise students to that specific country’s education system, because these private schools offer students college programs without any exam. To illustrate let us look at the example of Saint Joseph French Schools and American Culture Schools. While St. Joseph Schools tend to teach French history in detail, in contrast, American Culture Schools meticulously gives the history of United States. Applying a common curriculum may restrict students to get admission from that country’s colleges.

Furthermore, most of the high schools are separated according to departments such as art, science, vocation etc. which means that if the same national curriculum had been applied, it would be impossible to differentiate talents of the students. Moreover, none of the schools would have chance to specialize in an area, and students would have to do the job they did not want. Also, they will frustrate when they do not be successful in the future. To bolster it further we can use the quote of Einstein: “If you try to teach a fish to climbing tree, it will feel stupid itself”.

Admittedly, some people may argue that students should have a common national curriculum until college regardless of their school for the opportunity equality in education sake. This is true especially when it comes to educational quality difference between state schools and private schools. However, above argument does not constitute a sufficient to support to claim that studying the same curriculum will equalize the quality of educations in different schools. Even if the same curriculum is applied for all schools, for example, Henry School, a private school, will still have better education than the state schools as its fund is a lot higher than them. Finally, this argument is unwarranted since it does not have a much solid ground.

In conclusion, applying a common curriculum for all schools in a nation is impractical because of the reasons I have mentioned above.