Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The issue of whether those in power should step down after five years is a contentious one. While each side has it strengths and weaknesses, I mostly disagree with the statement for several reasons. Primarily, new leaders are generally younger than those in charge for years, so they are not as experienced as old ones. In addition, changing executive every five year would curb the root of stability of the institution, because every time there will be adaptation process of newcomer, and the foundation will be open for any administrative mistakes in this duration.

First of all, managing prestigious enterprises requires years of experience which cannot be present in beginners. Also, I would like point out that keeping the same executive for long years would enlarge the network and authority of the company among competitors. To illustrate let us look at the example of TURKCELL, a telecom company. TURKCELL had many participant companies which had common benefits from each other before changing the institutional relationship director. Since the new director was ten years younger than the expert one, he did not know the jargon, and failed to build robust affairs by having influence. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that experience in a certain position is a key factor led to success.

Furthermore, the best way to keep an enterprise’s success stable is minimizing the deadly mistakes such as explosions in a field which are mostly caused by poor management, so it would be much better to let experts to manage as much as they can. Honeywell, for example, an automation company, changed its whole executive board members including the CEO in order to refresh company’s vision, but terrible supervisory mistakes started to occur, and one of the natural gas tanks exploded in Afghanistan. After the accident in which forty workers died, Joseph Carter, new CEO of Honeywell, resigned. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that steadfast and successful leaders should be allowed to do their job no matter what.

Admittedly, some may argue that in any field, the leadership should necessarily be devolved from those in power to newcomer executives after five years to revitalize the vision. This is true especially when it comes to ability to adapt hot topics such as digital transformation, industry 4.0 etc. In addition, society loves the change because of the mobility it brings. However, the above argument does not provide sufficient support to claim that all of them will become thriving leaders of future, because as change duration gets shorter, more instability occurs.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages of frequent revitalization of leadership, actually, it restricts the growing speed of the institution. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved allowing experienced leaders to continue their role is more beneficial. In fact, this phenomenon holds for any field.