The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue of whether the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones is a contentious one. While some people object to this claim, I strongly believe that the statement is true, because awarding always contributes person’s motivation to learn. Furthermore, neglecting negative actions compounds the relationship between teacher and learner, and increases effectiveness of the lesson.

First of all, the best way to teach should build a robust relationship between teacher and learner. Although there are some techniques to achieve this goal, praising positive and ignoring negative actions is the best one, because, in this way, teacher would be encouraging learner to motivate himself. A math student, for example, is taking private lesson from a teacher. When student makes calculation mistakes, if teacher says it is not a problem rather than rebuke him, student will not be frustrated, and he will try to correct his errors. Additionally, his learning process will be much faster as he starts to find the topics which he is weak at, and focus on them.

Admittedly, some may argue that punishing the negative actions would be more instructive. This claim is true especially when it comes to shy students. However, this method is too risky for aggressive students, because they can immediately resist to the teacher and start to hate the topic. Since this statement is not valid for all kinds of learners, it cannot be considered as the best way to teach.

In conclusion, we need to find the best way to build healthy relationships between teacher and learner to find the best way to teach. As we discussed above, praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is an appropriate method to build such strong relationships. Hence, I agree with the recommendation.