People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Your task

The issue of whether people’s behavior is largely determined by forces is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that this argument is unwarranted because of numerous reasons. Primarily, even if people are affected by the same forces, they may have different behavioral attributes. Additionally, forces are temporary factors, while behaviors are constituents of character which is persistent.

First of all, behavior of an individual is his own making as he is the decision maker for actions in any cases. Moreover, both common sense and personal experience told us that the same forces can have different impacts on people, because people’s way of thinking is the distinguishing factor. To illustrate, let us look at the example of Joe & Zoe twin brothers. Although they have grown in the same happy family, Joe has a lot more aggressive attitude than Zoe. When they had a car accident last year, Joe started to lambast his mother who was the driver, while Zoe tried to calm her. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that behaviors of a person cannot be determined by environmental forces.

Secondly, directing the behavior of a human requires changing one’s way of thinking which is impossible to do by force. By the way, I would like to point out that all of our behaviors are product of our mind. Joseph Harper, for example, commander of U.S. army in World War II, was prisoner in late 1900’s, and enemy soldiers have tortured, threat him to learn about U.S. army’s plan, but he did not give any information as he was a fearless person. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that changing one’s act by using force is an invalid claim.

Admittedly, some may argue that people’s attitude is determined by environmental circumstances. This is true especially when it comes to extreme cases like Tarzan who has grown up in jungle. In addition, if the force has a negative impact on the individual, it may result in traumatic way. Susan Andrew, for instance, a 15 years old cheerful girl, has been abused by her father for two months. Even though she got treatment from a well-known hospital for a year, she did not become as lively as in the past. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that every force has an impact on our behaviors, because this case was one of the extreme cases as it caused a psychological destruction.

In conclusion, although there could be some unusual cases in which forces have an effect on person’s behaviors, we cannot generalize it, because not all forces have a traumatic impact on one’s psychology. In fact, as long as people protect their way of thinking, none of the forces will be able to determine their behaviors.