"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author’s argument that there is a relationship between individual’s birth order and levels of stimulation is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms, but also uses data from limited sample to make sweeping generalization about an entire population. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of making a common conclusion from the data of two different kinds.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that there is a strong relationship between anatomies of rhesus monkeys and humans, so it makes a conclusion about human nature based on experiments made on rhesus monkeys. This is a weak and unsupported hypothesis as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between rhesus monkeys and humans. If the argument had provided evidence that there is a high similarity between DNA’s of rhesus monkeys and humans, then it would have been a lot convincing to the reader.

Secondly, the argument claims that hormone activity level of firstborn infant monkeys is higher than their siblings in stimulating situations. This is an argument made with only one type of hormone, cortisol and limited number of monkeys, eighteen. The experiment’s results could be much more variant, if different kinds of hormones of monkeys or greater numbers of monkeys were observed. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if experiments were done with greater data.

Finally, the author cites that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. However, author ignores the possible age difference between monkeys, because most probably, first-time mother monkeys are younger than those who had several offspring. The reader is left with the impression that the experiment is done with identical monkeys under equal conditions.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of triggering conditions of different hormones in different age groups with convincing amount of experiments. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about human anatomy and different kind of hormones.