"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There are three main alternative explanations that could explain the results presented in the study. First, firstborn infants are accustomed to less familiar faces than their younger brothers: this might explain the high levels of cortisol in encounters with an unfamiliar monkey, and not necessarily the birth order. When a firstborn is born, his family is only his father and mother, while younger offspring are born to a family with father, mother, and older siblings. This might adjust younger offspring organisms, making them less prone to release cortisol in their bloodstream when encountering unfamiliar monkeys. To verify this, we suggest an experiment in which young siblings are removed from their families just after birth, and put in other setup with only father and mother.

Second, human parents might demonstrate more affection and concern in returning and re-encountering their firstborn babies, as they are first-time fathers, thus stimulating their children more severely. As they become accustomed to fatherhood, when they re-encounter their children after a while, they might show less emotions, stimulating less younger children. This could explain the high level of cortisol observed in firstborn human babies instead of birth order. To check this, we suggest testing young children put up for adoption, not firstborn babies, with first-time fathers.

Finally, the high level of cortisol observed in first-time mother monkeys might be related to the effect of being pregnant and having to look out for baby monkeys at the same time. The stress of being pregnant and having to feed a large offspring might change mother monkeys' hormonal response. To verify this, we suggest an additional experiment in which we remove young offspring from a pregnant mother monkey.