Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Over the past century, an explosion of career path options followed the world economic development. Today, a college undergrad student has a significant higher number of options in comparison to what a student had decades ago. Therefore, the question about which career to choose is one of the most critical decisions a student might face. To address the problem, the prompt proposes a policy in which educational institutions would actively encourage students to choose fields of study that would prepare them for lucrative careers. I believe that policy, if implemented, would be a big mistake, generating disastrous unintended consequences. Let’s examine some of them.

To begin, the policy is based on the assumption that educational institutions can adequately forecast which careers will be more lucrative in the near future, once their students finish college and go to the job market. That’s unrealistic, because the economy is extremely dynamic: a lucrative career today might decline in the near future, while unpopular fields of study today might become lucrative after some years. For example, in the middle of last century, nuclear energy was a very popular field of study due to the proliferation of nuclear power plants. Consequently, the career of nuclear engineering was very lucrative. But that didn’t last for long: towards the end of the century, as clean energy became the focus, this career path went into decline, being replaced by other options. What would have happened to a student encouraged to study this field in that transition period? He or she would have wasted valuable years.

Moreover, a more serious consequence of the policy regards the talents of the students and what makes them happy. By encouraging young people to follow lucrative careers, disregading completely who they are, their talents and what makes them happy, the policy risks setting the students to a lucrative but miserable work-life. For instance, let’s imagine a studend whose career choice was influenced by this policy, and ended up working in a field that provides a lot money but no joy; imagine now that this studend would hate his job, and develop depression as a result. Although financially successful, this student would have failed to become a happy professional, and certainly his contributions to society would be below average.

In contrast, a much better policy would be one that encourage students to increase their self-awareness and pursue their passions. A lucrative career should be the consequence of a talent being fully developed and put to use in the field of study it loves. Perhaps the best example is J. K. Rowling. Against her family, who argued that she should have studied a lucrative field, she decided to study English literature and pursue her passion for writing. Millions of children and adults would have missed Harry Potter if she had chosen differently.

In sum, educational institutions have a responsibility to help students succeed, but translating this responsibility into a policy that encourages the pursuit of lucrative careers is dangerous and might result in unintended consequences. A much better alternative would be to encourage students to increase their self-awareness, learn about their talents, and study fields that they are most passionate about.