Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Although I generally agree with the statement, I believe that laws passed to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in the natural state might be too strict. It is true that we must preserve wilderness areas. Otherwise, life would not be possible on our planet. However, the claim is too strict: some areas must be preserved, but some can be developed for economic growth, as long as some criteria is met.

First, let us evaluate which criteria must be met to decide which areas must be preserved, and which could be developed. In my view, the first criteria must be the wellbeing of the population surrounding the wilderness area. The development of an area should only be done if the wellbeing of the population surrounding the area could be significantly improved. If the development would end poor life standards, bring benefits such as better healthcare to the native people from that area.

Also, the development of an area should only be done if economic gains are fairly distributed amongst all the population living in the area. It should never be permitted solely for the gain of a selected few. It must be used to reduce inequality, not amplify it. Otherwise, we would solve one problem but create another.

Finally, some economic gains from developing these areas must preserve other areas, where the first criteria mentioned above is not met. Whenever possible, wildlife from the developed areas must be relocated to the ones we selected to preserve.

It is true that wilderness areas must be preserved to the best we can. Preserving our biosphere is what makes our living on our planet possible. By wiping out all wilderness areas, destabilizing several important systems in nature, would lead to catastrophic consequences, such as global warming.

Nevertheless, defenders of the strict view of preserving any wilderness area fail to acknowledge that if these areas are being preserved at the cost of the population's wellbeing, that defeats the purpose of preserving it. People's minimum life standards should come first, as long as some areas are preserved and the main systems in nature are kept stable.