Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.

In asserting that Adams Realty is superior than Fitch Realty, selling homes quicker and at better prices, the argument makes four main assumptions. The argument implies that the 40 real estate agents who work for Adams have a higher productivity than the 25 who work for Fitch. Also, the comparison of revenues implies that selling more is selling with better profit margins for the home owners; the unstated assumption is that the higher average selling price achieved by Adams actually produces more profits for the home owners. Finally, by comparing how fast one house was sold ten years ago by Fitch with one sold a year ago by Adams, the argument assumes no other external effects, like the overall economy and the demand in the housing market, could explain the difference. Let's dive into each assumption.

First, the argument assumes that the 40 real estate agents who work for Adams are at least as productive as the 25 who work for Fitch. This might not be true, which would invalidate the conclusion. Consider the hypothesis in which each real estate agents from Fitch can perform twice as fast as an agent from Adams, even considering that some of Fitch's agents work only part-time, visiting more properties and handling more customers each. In that case, regardless of having less full-time real estate agents, Fitch would have a higher productivity, thus having a superior workforce.

Second, the argument uses the higher revenue generated by Adams, together with a higher average price per home sold, as a performance indicator to support its superiority. That might be misleading. What if the profit generated to the home owners in each sale is higher for those who have chosen Fitch over Adams? Consider the scenario in which the average asking price of homeowners who have chosen Fitch was $100,000, while the average asking price of those who have chosen Adams was $200,000. In that scenario, each sale completed by Fitch would have produced over 40% profit for their customers, while each sale done by Adams would have produced over 10% loss for theirs.

Finally, the comparison of two very distant periods might also be misleading. It assumes that external factors, such as the overall economy and the demand in the housing market, did not change during this timeframe. This is unlikely, as it compares ten years ago with one year ago, a very long time. Changes in external factors such as those mentioned could very well explain why it took Fitch four months to sell one house ten years ago, while it took Adams only one month to sell one house a year ago, and still not support that Adams is superior than Fitch.

To confidently conclude that Adams Realty is the best choice to sell your home quickly and at a good price, at least these four assumptions should be better investigated. Otherwise, people might mistakenly choose the worst option to sell their homes.