Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To conclude the argument is valid we must ensure the Arctic deers declining population is due to their inability to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea because the ice is melting. Also, we must check whether global warming is in fact affecting Canada's arctic regions.

First, we must check whether deers are traveling or trapped in islands. That is because even with global warming, deers might have found other ways to move over ice from island to island. This can be achieved by analyzing aerial photographs of Canada's arctic regions, or visiting different islands to inspect whether the population is spread or in fact concentrated in specific islands.

Deers might be confined in certain areas with abundant food. Therefore, the inability to travel over ice due to global warming might not explain the decrease in population. If that is the case, other reasons must explain their population reduction. Two hypotheses worth checking are an increase in hunting activity, or an increase in their predators' population over these areas.

We also must evaluate whether global warming is in fact melting ice that connects islands in Canada's arctic regions. This is important because global warming impacts distinct regions of the globe differently. It might be the case that, although global warming is indeed melting more ice globally, it is not actually impacting the Arctic region. Again, aerial photographs of the region would generate data that could confirm or refute this hypothesis. Other ways to validate this would be checking whether sea levels are increasing in Canada's arctic regions.

Finally, after evaluating the previously stated data, we should also check for any other change that might have caused deaths of deers and other animals in the region. An unfortunate example of another possible cause for the reduction of wildlife population is the increased pollution in the arctic sea, which might impair their ability not only to find food but also to reproduce.