Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education institutions play a very important role in inspiring and influencing students, setting them off to successful careers. If done properly, institutions can inspire even those students who were very unlikely to succeed in their career choices, pushing them to achieve the unimaginable. Therefore, education institutions have a responsibility to encourage students to pursue fields of study they choose, regardless of how likely the are to succeed at the moment of their choice.

Throughout history, there are several examples of successful scientists, entrepreneurs, artists, writers, and many other professionals who once were very unlikely to succeed, at the beginning of their education. Consider Albert Einstein, the father of the theory of relativity and one of the most important scientists of all time. He is famously known not only for his brilliant discoveries, thought experiments and theories, but also for having difficulty in math when he was a child. What could have happened if his school, after observing he was failing in math, had dissuade him to pursue his interest in science?

It is very hard to effectively evaluate whether someone is likely or unlikely to succeed in the long run, at the beginning of a career. As with Einstein, there are many more examples of people who succeeded even against all odds. These examples show the power of passion and perseverance in pursuing fields of study someone really is keen to. Angela Duckworth and Carol Dweck, famous psychologists, researched this topic extensively, summarizing their findings in "Grit: the power of passion and perseverance" and "Mindset". In these books, they explain how people who were unlikely to succeed can and often do overcome all challenges to achieve their goals. In this process, they explain, parents and teachers play a very important role in nurturing students' dreams.

Instead of dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, educational institutions should explain to students what is required to succeed. They should show career paths and prepare the students to choose by themselves. Explaining what is required to succeed, preparing the students to choose by themselves, nurturing and encouraging their choices, should be the real responsibility of education institutions.

It is in school that several careers get started, as young students learn about professions and great role models. Countless students start to dream about what they will do in life while in class. Therefore, educational institutions should embrace their role of encouraging them to pursue their dreams, regardless of how likely they are to succeed at the moment they start dreaming. With proper preparation, encouragement, passion and perseverance, anyone can achieve their dreams.