The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

To evaluate whether the recommendation to limit the number of mopeds rentals will produce the desired effect of reducing the number of moped accidents in 50 percent during the year, we need to answer questions related to when most accidents happen, the cause of the accidents, where the accidents happen, and the expected increase in population during summer. Let's evaluate one by one.

First, the recommendation will only work if the accidents are concentrated during the summer. This is the first question we should evaluate, as if the accidents are distributed uniformly throughout the year (or more concentrated in other seasons rather than the summer), the reduction in moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during summer will not be sufficient to allow the island to attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents.

Assuming that most accidents occur in summer, we still need to assess the primary cause of the accidents. Are accidents primarily caused by people or by mopeds? If we find that the primary cause for accidents are people, and not mopeds, the recommendation still might fail. That is because people will still collide with mopeds, as in the summer there will be significantly more people in the streets, regardless of the reduction of mopeds in circulation.

Even if we confirm that most accidents happen during summer and the mopeds are the main reason provoking the accidents, we also must check whether the accidents are concentrated in specific regions of the island or uniformly distributed throughout its land. If the accidents are limited to (or more concentrated in) a specific region of the city, a reduction in rentals that does not address that difference will also produce unsuccessful results.

Finally, assuming that we successfully answer all previously stated questions, the recommendation still might fail. We must check whether accidents are proportional to the number of additional people circulating in the streets during summer, and that the total population does not surpass 100,000 people during summer. If we verify that the number of accidents is proportional to the total population, if the population increases over this threshold, the recommendation still will not lead to 50 percent reduction in accidents during the course of a year.