Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree with the overall idea that in any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after they have had enough time to improve the status quo and deliver positive results. The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership, which will try new and different approaches to continuous improvement. However, I believe setting an universal time limit of five years to all cases is too strict. We should evaluate what is the maximum time leadership should hold power on a case-by-case basis.

The cyclical change in leadership of organizations is very good, as it infuses new ideas and approaches, bringing diversification of strategies to continuously improve. Having leaders that stay too long in power might dampen the organizations' ability to innovate and adapt to ever-changing landscapes, reducing its capacity to keep generating successful results. In politics, there are several examples of authoritarian governments, which stay in power longer than ten, twenty years, harming a society's ability to evolve. In businesses, there are also hundreds of examples of leadership teams that stay for too long in power, reducing their ability to innovate and try new strategies to keep growing.

Five years might be too soon to change those who are in power. There are several successful businesses who generated substantial results exactly because their founders and CEOs worked together for longer than five years, only passing the baton to the new generation of leaders after they were able to create a culture capable of generating sustainable positive results. Some examples of such companies are Google, Microsoft, Starbucks, Nike, etc. Also, several democracies allow reelections, thus enabling those who get to power to stay up to eight years in countries like the US, provided that they get enough votes in two consecutive elections. This allows for longer projects and longer term interventions.

Setting a hard five years deadline can simplify the problem of determining what is the appropriate time a team should hold power, until it is replaced by a new team. However, this simplification comes with a cost. If a team knows in advance its mandate in power will last only five years, it can prioritize only short and medium term interventions, which can produce desired results within that fixed timeframe, avoiding long term endeavors. Long term projects, in areas such as infrastructure, education, research & development, which usually take longer than five years to mature and yield positive outcomes, might never be executed.

Nevertheless, there are cases in which a leadership team must be replaced before five years. Consider a criminous president. If officials discover wrongdoings before the five years time limit, he or she must suffer impeachment before the five years deadline. Therefore, we must evaluate which is the proper time maximum time for leaders to hold power on a case-by-base basis.