Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Nowadays, as our attention span becomes increasingly narrow due to increased number of daily messages being received through new technologies, media vehicles are showing more and more scandals in the headlines. Politicians, celebrities, businessmen, even scientists, who should know better, are frequently using scandals to gain our attention and drive public opinion to their objectives. Nevertheless, this is a negative phenomenon. Although scandals are powerful ways to focus our attention on problems that would otherwise not receive the proper look, they harm more than they build. That is mainly because of two reasons: they polarize the public, making it harder to achieve a consensus on the best solution for the problem; and they sometimes bring the focus to irrelevant problems, driving the attention out of problems that we should have been looking at. Let's look at both reasons in more detail.

First, when a scandal is done to bring attention to a specific problem, usually the people doing the scandal appeal to emotional arguments, which evoke passionate discussions about different opinions. This generates a polarization effect, strongly dividing public opinion in two or even more unique points-of-view. Therefore, although the scandal focus the attention of the masses to the problem, it divides the public opinion more severely, making it harder to everyone reach a consensus towards the best solution, which usually involves compromises from both (or all) the parts involved. Polarization is a barrier to compromises.

Second, scandals bringing attention to irrelevant problems are unfortunately very often. There are several examples of this in politics, where politicians frequently use this strategy to shift the public focus out of an area they do not want people to look at. This is very dangerous: people who have high media exposure can use scandals to manipulate public's perceptions, thus taking the focus out of problems that should have been receiving attention.

Although it is true that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could, there are other ways to drive attention without incurring in the risks explained above. Scandals usually use emotional arguments, which are based on little or no data at all; driving the attention to problems by making strong arguments, heavily based on data, with emotional support, is a better way to achieve the same result. That is because strong arguments based on data, told in a balanced way, using emotions just to support the facts, is more likely to avoid polarization. Finally, this alternative would only bring attention to relevant problems, as irrelevant ones would be clearly seen by the supporting data.

Whenever telling a story, making and argument or trying to sell an idea, in order to focus the public's attention on problems, we should always prefer making strong arguments, supporting them with proper data, over scandals. This will ensure we will always do our best to bring everyone who is listening together towards reaching the best solution to the problem, avoiding polarization, and that we will be always looking at relevant problems.