Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

We agree with the claim that governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need to thrive. However, we believe that the reason on which this claim is based is not necessarily true, as there are several nations where cultural traditions are preserved and generated in non-major cities. Major cities must receive the proper financial support in order to thrive for other reasons.

Consider Brazil, or China, or India, for example. Although it is true that there are several museums in these countries' major cities, cultural traditions are generated in several non-major cities, in remote areas. These countries are actually so large, with so many diverse communities, that there are many more cultural traditions created and spread out throughout their territories, in their several minor cities, than museums, universities and other facilities in their major cities can properly preserve and display to the public.

Nevertheless, major cities must receive the proper financial support to thrive. Generally, it is in the major cities that the majority of a nation's people live and work. Therefore, a nation's economy is largely dependent on major cities. Through adequate funding, governments ensure major cities have well sized infrastructure to support its population, fostering economic development. We believe that this is a better reason to support the claim.

Minor cities and other locations where cultural traditions are mostly generated must also receive financial support from governments. Acting that way, they provide the necessary resources to preserve a nation's cultural heritage and history. It is paramount for a country's identity to celebrate their cultural traditions.

Finally, we believe both major and minor cities must receive adequate financial support from governments, but for different reasons. In the few major cities, with larger populations and heavy importance in a nation's economy, government funding ensures the proper infrastructure for the economy to thrive; in the several minor cities, with diverse communities full of history and traditions, government funding guarantees the nation's culture is preserved.