Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological advances are the force behind the improvement in people's lives. At every technological leap, basic needs are met and satisfied, which enable humankind to reach for even higher goals and satisfy even higher order needs. We are continuously improving our living standards, getting more productive and being able to do more, and technology plays a key role in this evolution. Technology, while apparently complicating our lives, significantly simplifies them and improve their overall quality.

Throughout history, technology leaps enabled humankind to not only survive, but thrive. Continuous advances in agriculture, for instance, allowed communities, cities and states to flourish by providing high quality food to an ever-increasing population. Technology breakthroughs in transportation made possible navigation, exploring new continents, inventing the steam engine, automobiles, and airplanes, connecting the whole world. Communication tools, such as radio, TV, and more recently the internet, fostered economic growth and brought people together. In healthcare, technology enabled such an improvement that global population and life expectancy more than doubled in past centuries.

At every major technological breakthrough, the simplification and improvement in life's standards enabled humans to pursue even higher goals, stretching to achieve more improvements. For example, the simplification and improvement in people's lives brought by the steam engine and the industrial revolution inspired entrepreneurs and scientists to invent the automobile. In time, this inspired new entrepreneurs and scientists to dream about flying, and then, in time, we literally reached for the stars, landing on the moon in 1969.

Some can argue that, by restricting usage of technological tools, people would live simpler lives, avoiding all kinds of complications. But that's a fallacy: that would only avoid modern complications, but would bring back old ones. For example, consider any tribe isolated from the world, which usually don't benefit from all main major technology breakthroughs listed above. There are several examples of such tribes in Brazil, Africa or New Zealand. These tribes would not have any modern-life complications, such as traffic jams. However, they continue to face very basic complications, such as hunting for food. Developed societies don't have to worry about that anymore: the life of their people is simple as these basic needs are already met.

At the core of technological breakthroughs is the human desire to solve problems, improve living standards and reach for higher goals. That's why, in the end, technology always brought and will continue to bring simpler and better lives to all.