A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

K-12 and high school education is a very hot topic in public debate, as it sets individuals off to successful careers if properly delivered. If not, it can undermine people's abilities to get to achieve their career and life goals. There are basically two curriculum approaches: a flexible one, in which all students learn a basic common core of broad fundamental concepts, and can pick and choose elective courses; and a one-size-fits-all national curriculum, in which all students learn exactly the same concepts until college. We believe that a nation should require all of its students to study a common core of broad fundamental concepts, but also allow students to choose elective courses allowing for personalization based on students' desired careers.

There is a growing variety of different fields a student can choose when she is applying for college, and the better she is prepared to that specific field, the higher the odds she will successfully graduate and start her career. A one-size-fits-all national curriculum would not allow for that specific preparation, while a common core with added elective courses would. Consider two different students, one who wishes to become a doctor, and other who desires to be an engineer. A flexible curriculum would provide both with education on fundamental concepts, needed in both careers (such as basic math, basic biology, basic chemistry, etc), but also allow the future doctor to study advanced topics in biology (required in the medical school), while at the same time better preparing the future engineer to college by teaching advanced math.

Also, there are different destinations than college. There are students who cannot afford or just simply do not wish to attend college. While a one-size-fits-all national curriculum would not prepare students to perform any practical job, as it would not allow for personalization and by definition should not teach in-depth concepts of any particular job or career, a flexible curriculum could equip these students, offering a multitude of optional practical courses, preparing them to get started in a simpler job right after high school.

The same national curriculum has its merits, as it can better level all students to the same standards, both preparing them become productive citizens whichever career they choose, and also addressing undecided students. These undecided students would have difficulties in choosing amongst optional courses in the flexible curriculum scenario. Nevertheless, most high school students have already a preferred career, or careers, which they are aiming for; the undecided are the minority. And this specific need could be addressed by offering optional career exploring courses and counseling, helping the undecided to choose.

We believe that, by the arguments presented, the benefits of a flexible curriculum outweighs the costs. Therefore, a flexible approach should be preferred in favour of a national one-size-fits-all curriculum, better preparing high school students for their next steps.