Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I believe that government funding of the arts is not only necessary but essential to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Throughout history, several countries used public funds to make sure artists can produce art and art lovers can appreciate it in museums, teathers, cinemas, etc. The benefits of government funding of the arts outweigh the risks in this activity. Let us examine two of the main supporting reasons for this view, and address their opponents' main concern.

First, government funding of the arts means more overall funding. And the more funding there are, the more artists can exist and produce art, even those coming from humble beginnings. A society with abundant artists, coming from diverse backgrounds, will ensure arts can flourish. Without proper level of funding, only people who are either well off or who can access private funding would be able to pursue artistic endeavors. That could severely limit the artistic potential of a given society.

Second, government funding is not only necessary to ensure everyone can become artists, regardless of whether they have means or not, but also to ensure arts are available to everyone. Relying solely on private funding to build and maintain museums, teathers, cinemas and other artistic venues would cap the reach of art to a selected few. Proper government funding enables sufficient venues throughout the country, such that all art lovers can reach those and appreciate art.

Nevertheless, I believe opponents of this view have a valid concern. People who believe that government funding of the arts threatens their integrity are mostly concerned with the fact that malicious governments can commission art and direct its content to favour views that benefit themselves. There are some examples of such phenomenons in history, especially in totalitarian regimes. However, this risk can be mitigated with laws that forbid this type of art of receiving public funds. Art should only be funded with government resources if it does not favour that government or any of its views. Otherwise, we could have governments funding art with the purpose of keeping and increasing its power, corrupting the system.

As said, this risk is avoidable with the right set of laws in place. Government funding of the arts is paramount to ensure not only everyone can appreciate art, but also to ensure anyone can pursue art as a way of life.