The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the Board of Directors of Monarch Books, the book retailer intends to attract more customers by café in its store. In order to evaluate whether this recommendation is likely to have the predicted result, we must answer some questions, which will show us for sure whether the intervention will work or not.

Let us start by evaluating the main assumption of the recommendation, which implies the main reason why new customers would go to the store is because of a café. Which are the main drivers to generate in-store customer flow? Other reasons might drive people to the stores, such as promotions, exclusive deals, book signing events. Or simply investing in advertising might drive more customers to the stores, people who were not aware of Monarch Books.

On top of that, a decline in the percentage of the population under ten does not necessarily mean that sales to this target will decline. What if people under ten are reading more? If that happens, and the Board of Directors carry on with its recommendation, transforming children's book section into cafes might generate the opposite result, as the potential increase of customers driven by the café would be more than offset by a reduction due to less children.

Also, to better understand whether Monarch Books will be able to better compete with Regal Books, we must investigate the reasons why customers from the latter are preferring it instead of the former. Is it the cafe or are there other reasons? How does the selection of its books compare with the selection of its rival? And the price? A complete survey of the reasons why customers are choosing Regal Books over Monarch Books should be run in order to unveil potential reasons, before making such an expensive change in the store.

Finally, Monarch Books is in business at the same location for more than twenty years. What about the neighborhood where it is placed? How are the reading habits from the population in the area evolving? Is there more people reading, or less people reading? What about education, income levels and unemployment in that area? These are also very important questions that should be answered before Monarch Books decides to open a café in its store.