The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Throughout the history, several examples of nations where their rulers and scientists achieved impressive feats, and yet their people suffered immensely, come to mind. Thus, I agree with the claim that the surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people. And I will support my view by providing examples in which nations failed to provide for their people, in spite of their rulers’ and scientists’ strong achievements.

A great nation is marked by how many people are willing to live there, irrespective of the magnitude its ruler’s feats. Take for instance the Germany between 1930 and 1940. During that period, Hitler was able to an impressive and nefarious achievement: he conquered Europe. Nevertheless, the well-being of Germans was severely impacted, as millions perished during the Second World War. Another example is what we see in some Arabic countries these days. Commanding an immense wealth, Sheiks build dream-like cities in the middle of the desert. However, millions of women suffer all kinds of injustices due to their regime, in which men have far more rights than women. Those are clear examples where rulers did impressive achievements, yet their people suffered and continue to suffer.

Additionally, no matter how advanced the science of a nation is, if their people is living poorly, it means the nation is not actually that great. For instance, during the Cold War, Russia’s scientists achieved incredible advances. They were able to build and develop a high-tech space program, to run a successful nuclear program, and to train top-notch scientists in several areas such as computer science. Nevertheless, during this period, the people living under the socialist regime were not living well, some even suffering from poverty and hunger. If science doesn’t translate itself into gains to the general population of a country, why bother investing in it?

Some might say that the achievements of a country’s ruler and scientists is a good proxy for how great a nation is, because only people experiencing great living standards are able to vote for and support rulers who are high-achievers, and to become productive scientists. Although this thought might make sense in theory, history shows several counter-examples to this idea; we described just a few, but there are many more.

A myriad of indicators exists to assert how great a nation is. Among them, achievements from its ruler and scientists are seductive, especially because they are easy to see and measure. However, they fail to truly indicate great nations as there are several counter-examples. If people are not living well, these achievements mean little. In the end, the surest indicator of a great nation is the general being of all its people.