In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I definitely agree with a softer version of the statement. In any field of endeavour, I believe it is very hard to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. Although very hard, the word "impossible" is too strict, which makes the claim too hard to support. By replacing it with "very hard", it becomes more plausible, perfectly reflecting my personal beliefs.

First, let us discuss why studying past achievements in a particular field matters for people who want to make significant contributions to that field. In studying past contributions and main thinkers of a certain field, we learn their main challenges and open problems, which tells us where a contribution is more welcomed. By doing that, we can better pick up the current status quo of that field and advance it, building on what other great people have left in the past. No one may have put it more eloquently than Isaac Newton, when he said he was only able to achieve what he did because he stood on the shoulders of giants.

Also, studying past achievements within a field is important not only to pick up where other great people left, but also to avoid mistakes other great people made, learning not only from past successes but also from failures. In that way, one can apply successful methods that worked in other contexts to their own, replicating what worked to achieve the desired result. There are several examples in most diverse areas. One that strikes me the most is how Martin Luther King Jr, being strongly influenced by Mahatma Gandhi's struggle to achieve India's independence from the United Kingdom, learned the power of nonviolence in social movement, successfully applying it to the civil rights movement in the United States.

It is true that there are geniuses that, at very young age, dazzle the world with supernatural performances, being capable of significant contributions with very little study of past achievements in their respective fields. From math savants to music child prodigies, such as Mozart, history shows us several counterexamples to the claim that it is impossible to leave a significant mark without being influenced by past achievements.

Nevertheless, these counterexamples are the exception, not the rule. Most of the contributions in the world are made not by geniuses with supernatural performances, but by regular people with a strong sense of purpose and desire to achieve significant goals. Therefore, one can maximize his or her chances to make a significant contribution in a particular field by diligently studying past achievements within that field. This significantly improves the odds of his or her having a purposeful and fruitful life.