Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Specific evidence about whether it would be possible for Paleans to have reached Lithos by other ways rather than by boat is needed to evaluate the argument. Also, knowing about other peoples in the region and whether they had boats is very important to check the argument's conclusion.

Consider the hypothesis in which Palean fossils or utensils, not necessarily the distinctive woven baskets, are found across the Brim River. This could prove Paleans found a way out of their village, across the river, without the need for boats, thus explaining the unique Palean baskets found in Lithos. Such a discovery would severely weaken the argument.

Also, what if other peoples, who used boats, lived in the vicinity of Palea village? These other peoples could have taken Paleans and their baskets across Brim River. This could also explain the discovery of the woven baskets in Lithos despite the absense of Palean boats. Finding fossils of other peoples in villages close to Palea, together with vestiges proving they used boats, would also weakens the argument.

To strengthen the argument, evidence proving no fossils or utensils of Paleans, of any kind, were found across Brim River: this would suggest they did not find any way out of Palea rather than by boat. Also, evidence that there were no other peoples using boats in the region, which could have taken them and their unique woven baskets across the river, is needed to support argument's conclusion.