To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Throughout history, humankind has seen great societies flourish and fall, producing great cities. The most important characteristics of a society - how their people lived, their economy, how they connected with other societies, etc - are frequently observed on how their main cities were built, and are hard to be observed otherwise especially if the society no longer exists. Therefore, to understand them, one must study its major cities.

To illustrate, let's consider ancient Rome. By studying the ruins of the major cities this great society built over 2000 years ago, one can learn a great deal about how they lived. The place where military buildings were built within the cities suggests how they were organized and defended themselves from invaders. Looking to their main roads and aqueducts help us understand how important agriculture and trading were for their economies. Simply observing the number of buildings in the ruins of a city help us infer their population, something that would be very hard to infer by other ways.

These are few examples about what one can learn by only studying major cities of a society, but there is much more. It is important to highlight that, combining these studies with observations in other areas, such as weather, fauna and flora in the region the society lived, we can discover much more about the society.

Yet, it is possible to learn some characteristics of a society without necessarily studying its major cities. For example, one can infer a lot about an ancient society's diet by studying fossils, especially their teeth. However, these studies, combined with observations about how their cities were built, reveal even more about the topic being studied. In this example, looking at fossils from an ancient society, their teeth, one can conclude their people used to eat grains; combining this with studies of their cities, which could show ruins of mills, silos and roads, one could infer not only they used to eat grains, but how they prepared, stored and traded grains with neighbour societies.

The major traces of a society get imprinted on how they build, organize and grow their main cities. Thus, it is very important to study them in order to acquire a complete perspective on how this society came to be.