"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The above argument compares a fact that seem to be related in rhesus monkeys and humans. It claims that first born of the Rhesus monkey mother shows high levels of hormone cortisol when it is stimulated such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey. It also further claims that first-born humans also produce a higher level of cortisol when their parents return after an absence. The mentioned argument seemed to quite ambiguous and it is filled with factual errors which are discussed in the alternative explanations which could plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

To begin with, the argument seems to compare two different animal species the Rhesus monkey and Humans which is totally wrong. It might happen that the hormone cortisol may be generated due to some different reason in humans than the monkey. You cannot compare two species having being separated in their evolution tree millions of years ago with same symptoms. The comparison seems to be factually incorrect and its quite evident that it’s trying arduously to justify the conclusion.

Furthermore, one could argue the term relatively high in the argument when comparing the cortisol hormone levels of firstborn and other. It might happen that relatively high might be a very slight difference and not too great of a difference for substantiating the conclusion. It may be well within the margin of error. The argument fails to state any kind of statistical evidence regarding the amount by which the levels were high. Consider for an example if the India and Australia are having a cricket match and India won by relatively high margin that doesn’t seem to justify that Australia is a bad team.

Moreover, the argument mentions that it has conducted the study on eighteen rhesus monkey which is very less for conclusively deriving such inference. Also, it fails to mention the number of humans studied for their experiments. It might happen that all the monkeys studied were from the same group and all produced higher level of cortisol without any kind of stimulation. This kind of study requires years of observation and statistics to prove the hypothesis but the argument fails to deliver such.

Hence, unequivocally we can say that by taking into account such crucial explanations the argument fails to justify the conclusion. It is impossible that such a study with a very little amount of population to study will lead to conclusions mentioned in the argument. To put it simply it fails to justify the conclusion on the basis of the provided evidence.