Until now, the distinctive patterned baskets were thought to exist only in Palea. Recently, archaeologists found a Palean basket in the city of Lithos. Now, there exists Brim river between these two cities. No evidence of boats till now and the river bein

The author of the passage argues that the basket with distinctive pattern previously only found in close proximity to ancient village of Palea may not be unique to Palean people after all. The author claims that the basket was also found in Lithos an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The argument also mentions that its not possible for Palean people to cross the Brim River without boat and no boats have been found. However, the argument is flawed and fails to provide substantial evidence to warrant the claims.

First of all, the author falsely assumes the geographical setup of ancient and modern times as one and the same. It might be possible that Brim River that existed between Palea and Lithos was non existent or perhaps was very shallow. The climate conditions following the ancient world change the topography of the area which resulted in the formation of the river. The argument fails to provide any logical evidence regarding the existence of the water body. Hence, if this is the case then author has wrongly concluded about the unique basket of the Palean people.

Furthermore, it might also happen that there exists a different path other than Brim River between Palea and Lithos making it easier for both the civilizations to trade goods easily. This path may be longer but it does not necessarily mean that the two civilizations didn’t have any trade. For example, if one country has put restriction on any trade routes through their land then we can’t just assume that two different countries who have shortest trade route through that country don’t trade. Therefore, taking this point into account the argument seems to be very faulty.

Moreover, the author assumes that both Palea and Lithos directly traded goods with each other but that might not necessarily be the case. The Palea may have traded with some other civilization with which the Lithos also traded which allowed the people in Lithos to buy Palean goods. Like is the case of modern world China manufactures iPhones but the Americans sell them.

In conclusion, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide scientific and logical evidence to the above-mentioned points then it might help make the argument stronger.