Until now, the distinctive patterned baskets were thought to exist only in Palea. Recently, archaeologists found a Palean basket in the city of Lithos. Now, there exists Brim river between these two cities. No evidence of boats till now and the river being deep and broad, the archaeologists have concluded that the baskets were indeed not unique to Palea.

Express your views on the author's argument and conclusions by discussing its flaws and/or merits.

In the passage, It is conclued that the Palean baskets' are not unique and this conclusion is drawn from some assumptions. According to the passage, the Palean Buskets were found in Lithos which was situated across a river from Palea but there was no sign of Palean boats found in lithos. It also assumes that there was no other way of transportation from Palea to Litho other than the river. Even if these assumptions makes a point at first glance, these assumptions need to analyzed by skeptical eyes and the gaps in those assumptions should be taken into consideration.

Firsly, archaeologists did not find any Palean boats in Lithos, but did they find in Palea any boat which was made in Lithos? There was no evidence on this case. The people from Litho might make boats and sell it to the Palean people or they might have taken the boat crossing as their profession, so Palean people might have travelled to lithos by the boats made by people of Litho. So, this assumption is nullified in this case.

Secondly, there might have been other way to travel Litho from Palea, it could be a long way through some mountains or might cover a long area but people did travel in that way. There was another possibility of having ancient expert swimmers who can actually cross the river even if it was deep and broad. We do not know much about the technique of ancient people, for instance, the technique which was used to make pyramid. But they did it and the evidence is right in there. So, it can not be said that there was no ancient technique to cross the river.

Finally, time changes even geographic maps. The way of flowing rivers change by time though natural calamities. For example, there is a possibility of a huge earthquack which might have changed the Brim river flow direction. May be there was no river in the place where Brim river is situated now.

In sum, the passage makes a potential argument about the origin of Palean Buskets, but the assumption behind the argument should be seri