This argument states that the Excelsior Company should conduct similar promotions that were done by Superior in introducing its own brand of coffee. While the author presents a merit in the claim, there are several questionable assumptions and evidence in regards to the argument

The argument concludes that as the middle aged people spend more money as compared to younger people. It further adds that as the number of middle aged people will increase in future, department store should replace the items which attract to the younger to the one which attract to middle aged people. This argument doe not have proper reasoning. This argument is flawed because it did not provide any evidence to supports its point.

First, author states that the middle aged people spend 39% of the retail on departmental store. However author does not clarify that on which items actually they spend. Middle aged people normally have a family, they buy things for the family. For example people go to departmental store to buy cloths for their kids. Because they get a large range of varieties. Also for kids you need more cloths as compared to adults on average. So middle age people may be spending on their family. Statement does not provide any support that middle aged people actually buying for themselves.

Second, further more the argument says as in near future middle age population will increase so the department store should place the items of their choice.Which is not convincing. younger people now a days want to get associated with branded items. People get these items in departmental store. For example the branded accessories are big profitable items for the departmental store. If store replace these items actually it may affect them adversely.

This argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing to me. The author could have strength ed it but adding more details to it. For example he could have given evidence that middle aged people actually spending on themselves and which is a profitable trend for store.