Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The issue of whether or not governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to preserve nation’s cultural traditions is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I mostly disagree with the statement for several reasons. Primarily, priority of governments should be satisfying the essential needs of all cities in order to keep peace stable. In addition, nation’s cultural traditions can be preserved in other ways rather than directly spending money.

First of all, first mission of the governments is not to protect cultural values but to ensure society’s peace. Otherwise, some inequities which may lead to riots will occur between major cities and rural regions because of unequal living standards. To illustrate let us look at the example of Turkish government’s last year annual financial plan. While preparing the plan, executives allocated $4 million for cultural events in Ankara, capital city of Turkey, one of the major cities of Turkey, rather than spending money to restore infrastructure of Ankara’s rural side. As a result, when the rain drops started to fall ground, flood occurred through the highway, and the traffic was stuck. In this circumstance, it is pretty obvious that spending money wisely for more urgent works is the plausible one.

Furthermore, spending money recklessly is not the only choice to preserve cultural traditions of a nation unless there is an emergent situation. Since governments have power to do change in any field, they should find better ways to finance cultural traditions such as organizing paid events. Scotland, for example, turned all of the historical palaces in country into museums, so, right now, the government does not need to care about financial status of palaces or their restoring costs. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that while some structural reforms exist to financially support traditional events, it is meaningless to spread money unconsciously.

Admittedly, some may argue that cities are the places where traditions are generated and preserved and that is why extra fund is necessary to keep tradition alive. This is true especially when it comes to teaching the traditions to new generations. Brazil, for example, organizes Rio Fest with $3 million budget every year to sustain its traditions. However, the above does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that every nation must spend millions of dollars to protect its culture, because this festival brings a lot of tourists from other countries, and it is financially more beneficial for Brazil.

In conclusion, although governments should ensure that cultural traditions of a nation are protected, they must do it in a sustainable way, and their priorities should be based on basic needs of society. In fact, as I have mentioned above, governments have ability do any financial revolution in culture management. In this way, preserving the traditions would be guaranteed with ease.