The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist."Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rat

The argument presented by the anthropologist, Dr.Karp, undermines the very basis of comparing two methods in general. In invalidating Dr.Karp's method of coming to a conclusion, he deduces improper conclusion from the two methods used at different point of time to generalize the response of a community. His conclusion is marred with logical fallacies and requires proper evidence for it to become a discerning argument.

First of all, Dr.Karp's observation was done 20 years ago and the author of the argument makes a false assumption in presuming that the population under observation would result in worthwhile understanding of the community. Furthermore, he comes to a conclusion by comparing two different sets of citizens of the Tertia village. He will need to provide evidence that the diversity among the community remained constant and hence would result in better conclusions.

Secondly, the experiments done by the author were taken for a group of islands and not only Tertia village which leads to skepticism in the authors conclusion that his method is superior than that of his counterpart. It can be possible that the group of people interviewed by the authors team were primarily from other islands and thus, would not consequently provide a better picture of the Tertia village community. He needs to provide evidence that his experiments presents a better image of the community in large. For an experiment to result in discerning outcome, the scope of the experiment should subsume a larger proportion of the community.

Thirdly, given the outcome of the authors interviews, it is facile to assume that this one method is better than the other in generality. No one result is sufficient enough to prove a method better than the other. The authors method might not yield better results in a different place where people are reluctant to share their views or where people are not good with their communication of thoughts through interviews. He also fails in explaining or detailing the methods used for bservation by Dr.karp which would result in a better comparison of the two.

Finally, the authors argument lacks proper judgement of the given facts and observations and hence, derives a fallacious conclusion in determining his method better than the former. He will need to provide more evidence like the similarity in people included of both the experiments, what method was used in observation by Dr.Karp and also will need to provide evidence for the group of people included in his observation of a mixed group of islands.