"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your o

For a nation to progress, the working of corporations and the national government should go hand in hand. Moreover, having fecund corporations in a nation can lessen the burden on the government to provide facilities which are generally neglected by any nations government so that they can focus on more important problems faced by the nation.

However, corporations are private entities whose goal is to maximize their profits at any cost. Such philosophy often comes in the way of providing services that in a way help in the welfare of the nation rather than making profits for the corporation.

Firstly, for a corporation to improvise on their services they need to be profitable as the profits facilitate to expand the plethora of services provided and the way in which these services are delivered to the end customers. But in lieu of making more profits, corporations tend to use methods which are not in the favor of anyone but them. We call it 'Jugaad' in India, where you try to find out a way other than the prescribed method of doing a certain process. For example, for a corporation building a flyover bridge, it might use a poor quality of raw material so that they can maximize their profits, but, in doing so they are ignoring the fact

that this might be pernicious for people using the bridge on a daily basis. In addition, companies do not follow environmental protocol to safeguard the atmosphere inside a country as doing so would require making a compromise with their profits.

Another way of looking at this is, that in order to maximize their profits, corporations put a lot of pressure on their employees that the the deadlines can be met. However, such an approach to making more profit might lead to more anxiety and stress for the people working with the corporation. This in effect, will lead to more burden on the nation in terms of less healthy workforce

and eventually, more cost to the nation for providing better medical facilities for such kind of cases. Sometimes, big corporations in order to maximize their customers tend to suppress small scale industries which are not able to cope with fierce competition from such big players and lead to more unemployment for the labor workforce which in turn puts more pressure on the nation as it increases the number of unemployed people in the country.

Although, corporations jeopardize their role for more profits, they can do much better. With the amount of skilled workforce and the vast amount of expertise, they can do most of the tasks at hand with great efficacy. Many governments across the world suffer from venality and thus put more pressure on the nation than making amends for improving it.

Finally, it is imperative that corporation work alongside governments to eradicate problems faced by a nation and in general, the citizens of that country. Corporations need to be more responsible and handle the nations issues as its own for a better future.