Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are

For all that matter, energy is a finite resource and it is incumbent upon each and every on the earth to save energy such that our present and more importantly, future generations can sustain. The issue here presents two different notions, one, which states that people of developed nation should reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle , given the situation of global climate change. Conversely, another statement is made stating that such drastic lifestyle changes are unjustified. It is assumed that we have a choice, to save energy or not.

Firstly, it is not only imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption, it is a responsibility of each and every individual to save energy whenever possible. There are mainly two kinds of nation, developed and the other ones, which are developing. Developed nations have better education system, better health care and more importantly, fecund citizens who thrive to make their nation more advanced. People living in developed nations have resources at their disposal to device mechanisms which can be used by everyone to save the mother earth from global warming. For example, more people in developed nations can afford electric cars and moreover, have electric charging stations which might not be possible in developing countries like India.

On the other hand, to say that such drastic lifestyle change is unwarranted is like running away from your responsibility. In developing nations, major population is in the middle-class section which have a decent income to sustain their lives. It would be harsh in such scenarios to make drastic changes in their lifestyle, given the burden and pressure they already have for sustaining their own lives. To the contrary, in developed nations, rather than being intransigent, people can make small changes in their lives and can set an example for the other population on earth to learn from them and gradually adapt those changes in their lives. For example, individuals can take bicycle to their work places as separate roads are available, which would also not undermine their safety.

Finally, given the situation of global climate change, each and every individual, should contribute to saving more energy for the future and use more energy efficient ways to achieve their day to day tasks. It is also demanding on one hand of any individual to make changes in their lifestyle, but looking at the larger picture, these small changes will make huge impact on the global scale.