The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous f

The owner of Movies Galore asserts that in order to reverse the recent decline in profits, they must reduce the operating expenses in their other stores. He bases his suggestion on the recent changes implemented regarding the operations in one of the ten stores of the Movie Galore's chain. He also undermines the idea that increasing movie rentals would reap any kind of positive result for the chain. In making these suggestions, the owner of the Movie Galore's chain, has made certain assumptions which might impede the desired outcome.

First of all, the owner suggests reducing operating expenses in the stores to reap more profit but fails to provide any evidence that such a change would ultimately result in ameliorating the current dismal situation of the chain. In order to prove his idea to be feasible for all other chains as well, he will need to answer a few questions first. Whether closing a store in other areas would meet the lifestyle of people residing in those areas? It might be possible that some of the stores are located in places where people generally visit the store after evening hours. There may be people who are busy during the daytime because their routine jobs and will only get free time to visit the store in the evening. There might be people who would want to watch movies which were reeased more than five years ago. There are people who are passionate about making their own collection of movies and depriving those customers would certainly not work in the stores favor.

He also undermines the idea of increasing the movie rentals as a means of improving profit for the stores. He states this without providing any evidence as to why this would not result in enhancing the current situation. Are people not willing to pay more for the movies ? Does it make a difference to people who are keen movie watchers and would not mind shelling extra pennies for watching their favourite movies. If the list of movies provided by the store is better than other stores in the town than people will be compelled to reach out to the store to get the movies that they actually want to watch.

The owner makes a recommendation for improving the declining profits for the stores but at the same time delves into fallacious assumptions for doing the same. He would first address the important obstructions at hand in order to make his idea viable. He will need to provide more evidence as to how reducing operational expenses is better than increasing rates for movie rentals. He will also need to consider whether his novel step would not exacerbate the current situation by alienating the current user base of the movie stores. He should also consider the geographic factors for making a move in the direction of improving the current fiscal conditions of the stores.