A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours

Smartphones and computers have become an integral part of our daily lives as we depend heavily on these form of content providers for our daily dose of entertainment, education or news. The argument here states that out of 250 people surveyed, those who were online for more than 30 hours a week, suffered from depression. Although, being online for longer duration does affect our lives in many unimaginable ways, the argument is short of intriguing logic and on the other hand, full of assumptions that need to be answered or clarified before making any recommendation.

Firstly, the survey involves 250 people between the ages of 30 and 45 and showed their association with number of hours spend online. The survey has been conducted recently but how recently has this happened is not clearly stated and also who has conducted the survey is not mentioned, which both undermine the surveys authenticity and dependability. It could have been conducted one or more years ago and might not hold relevant to the current scenario of relation between time spend online and depression. The organisation holding the survey should have a fair background for these observations to be taken seriously.

Secondly, the argument does not provide any evidence whether the individuals surveyed had any previous medical condition like anxiety, stress due to work or family, etc. Without having the background of people surveyed, it is fallible to assume that only time spend online leads to more depression. The argument ignores other factors that leads to depression or anxiety like failed relationships, strenuous work schedule and less physical activity which could add up to the depression levels of an individual. The survey's finding also suggests that people had difficulty in concentration twice more than before which could be because of numerous other reasons.

Thirdly, the argument states that those who reported more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also felt "sad,down, or blue" at least three times within past month. But this seems very normal for an individual as everyone face lows and highs in their lives and that too very frequently. The argument assumes being "down,sad or blue" as a problem and fallaciously associate it to online engagement of individuals whereas it is quite understandable that not everyone can be happy at all times.

Finally, the argument solely blames time spend online to be the major reason for people getting depressed and recommends limiting time spend online to improve the situation. But given the individuals felt depressed by staying online, it might not be feasible for them to spend less time as it might be their job. Suggesting more outdoor activity, spending time with friends and family and balancing their work-life will prove out to be better alternatives for improving their well-being. The author needs to clarify all the above discussed points before using it as base for making recommendations to people.