The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed co-education. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

President and administrative staff of Grove College, against the idea of most of faculty members, propose that college gives admission to only women as they did in past century. The conclusion might seem convincing at first glance however, enough evidence has not been provided to bolster the argument.

The first piece of evidence that we would need to evaluate the recommendation is more detailed information regarding the survey. The author pointed out that 80 percent of students voted in favor of all female college, but he did not provide any quantified data. There is some crucial question that their answers are illuminating about the reliability and representativeness of the survey. Firstly, how many students are studying there and how many of them respond to the survey. For example, if the college has 2000 students and only 50 of all students had been surveyed, the study is not representative. Also, it is suggested the author explain about the way he selected the pool of survey. Since, if he chose a group of students with similar idea about the issue, the survey would lead to biased outcomes. Therefore, to strengthen the argument, the author ought to provide more information about the question of survey, quantified data and his approach to select the pool of survey.

Another piece of evidence might weaken the argument is that whether the alumnae depend their future financial aids to the gender of students of college? The author should propose more information about the answer of alumnae and it cannot be assured that even if college gives admission to boys, the alumnae will not pay financial aids. He had better determine how much is their financial aids in aggregate and if they discontinue their support, they college may not get into financial problem. On the other hand, many people might become interested in supporting college financially due to gender equality decision. Consequently, changing to a co-education college may raise financial support for Grove College. Therefore, to champion the argument, the author should discuss more about the amount of current and perspective financial supports.

The author proclaims that an all-woman college will promote students morally. This claim is unfounded and there is no support for this notion and he also needs to describe moral behavior and how it will be improved by separating boys and girls in colleges. Conversely, many studies show co-education has many advantageous effects on both gender. For example, it improves self confidence among students and by relationship between both sexes, they will be familiar with emotion of each other. As a result, these experiences will improve their future life.

In conclusion, the argument has many flaws and jump into conclusion would be haste. To champion the recommendation, the author should provide more evidence about reliability and representativeness of conducted survey of students and alumnae. Moreover, he ought to discuss about financial support in case of all female college and both gender college.