The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, according a study published in a business magazine the author suggested that if companies employ executives who need less than six hours sleep per night, they will experience higher profit margin and faster growth. The conclusion is convincing at first glance, however to strengthen the conclusion, the author needs to address below questions.

The most crucial question is that whether the presented relationship between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms is reliable. Even if the survey is reliable and representative enough, the correlation always does not mean causation and maybe it is only a coincidence. Perhaps, success of firms have reached by other reasons. For example, the industry is in its boom cycle or staff of the firm are well educated and experienced, thus success of the firms is not related to number of hours that an executive sleeps at nights. To bolster the proposal, the author ought to do research on reasons of success in firms.

It is provincial to relate profit margin and growth of a company to amount of sleep of manager at nights. It is true that the role of top manager affects the growth of companies drastically, however it is because of skills of the manager rather hours of sleep at night. It is likely that the manager is talented, assiduous and well educated, so the success of the company is because of these characteristics not amount of sleeping. To strengthen the argument, it is suggested the author do research on accentuate traits of successful managers.

Another flaw of argument is recommendation to employ only managers who need less than six hours of sleep per night. Granting, working more could lead to a better result, it also decrease the efficiency. Managers who work a lot, may lose their concentration and make terrible mistakes, as a result less sleep at night may has adversarial effect on performance of the company on long run. Additionally, even if the manager did not need more than six hours for sleeping, the study did not indicate that they used the saved time for their firms. It is likely, they spend their time with families or friends, so they did not work and the success of their firm is not related to amount of their sleep at night.

In short, as discussed, the proposal has many flaws and jump into conclusion would be hast. To champion the proposal, the author should answers the aforementioned questions.