The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine. "A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the

In this article, it is argued that in order to make success of the firms, businesses should hire people who sleep less than six hours oer night. The author shows us a recent study of sleeping hours among 300 male and female advertising executives . It indicated that there was a kind of relation between the individual sleeping hours and t he success of the companies they were hired, which showed us if the employees sleep less than six hours, their companies would earn more profits as well as grow faster. While this statement is problmatic and there are some loopholes in it.Also, more evidence needed if the author wants to convince us on this argurment. Let's reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the author does not prove the arguement that if employees sleep less than six hours, their companies must be successfull. Firstly, whether there is a connection beween the employees' sleeping time and the archievement of their companies is still in question as the author does not offer us compelling evidence to prove this point. On the other hand, the atuhor expels lots of incidents which could make a company successfull. As an organic system, there are lots of othe factors can affect the achievenments of the company, but the author does not take them into consideration which make the argument of his/her own unconvicing. The strategies of the companies and the efficiency of the employees are all important cases could affect the perfomance of the companies.

In addtion, wether the study convincing is still in question. Firstly, there is no infromation about the method that how did the researchers collect the data of sleeping time, or in another word, maybe the data would be inaccruate if they were collected by the interview of employees because people may not konw the exact time of their sleep or they may not told the truth to the reseachers. Secondly, wether the scale of the study is large enough to make this conclusion is unwarranted. As maybe there would be more people taken into this study.Thirldy, the author does not tell us what kind of jobs of these people do as there are various works in a company. We could not make a general arguement without the consideration of different jobs of these people.

Finally, the recomendation of the author is not feasible for companies. In that we should admitt an assumption at first that everyone who applies for jobs would tell the real and exact sleeping time. But this assumption is unwarrated,either.

In conclusion, the argument is not convicing as there is no obvious connections between the sleeping time of the employees and the sccess of their companies. Also, the author could not expel other factors could influence the operations of the companies.