The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The challenge of an argument is a disputable issue which date backs to creation of philosophy. When prominent philosopher like Aristotle tried hard to persuade other philosopher and by overcoming them he could privilege his notions. In this regard, some people believe that the best way to examine an argument is finding how the argument is able to persuade a person with contrast idea. From my point of view, if someone convinces others with opposing view, he demonstrates the merits of his argument.

To begin with, someone who stands against a notion usually has a critical view and thus he can discern the weakness of an argument. Consequently, by hearing these critical perspectives the author of argument can find the weakness of his work, eliminate them and promote his notion. Now, by removing the flaw of his argument, he can convince the owner of opposing view. As a result, he hits two birds with one stone; he elevates his idea and convinces others. Throughout the history, some advances in science were achieved by critical thinking. While, some scientists try to propose a theory, others try to represent its flaws. For example, because many people use personal automobile, air pollution is a common problem in big cities and many environmentalist criticize excessive using cars. However, some engineer succeeded to solve the problem by invention of electric cars. Thus, such contribution led to technological advances.

Furthermore, when there is not any contrast view and all people are agree with the argument, the merit of argument is not discernible. In contrast, if someone disagrees with the argument and author succeeded to persuade him, the author will understand that his notion is valuable and encouraged to support it against other opposite views. Or vice versa, if the author found that the argument is not strong enough, he succumbs and release his idea. For example, if someone convinces his colleagues that his proposal could be lucrative for his company, he can persuade the board of management too.

Nevertheless, we cannot maintain for sure that the best way of testing an argument is convincing the opposite view. Considering, stubborn people who have prejudiced belief and although in many cases they know that their ideas based on weak reasoning, they adhere strongly to their notions, still. Even when such persons face logical reasons, they insist on their contrast point of view. For example, some religious people with inculcated belief or people with biased political view, even with proposing crystal clear reasons, they will never release their belief. The story of Galileo and the church is illuminating for this issue. Galileo discovered that earth is not the center of universe, whereas, the church adhered to its traditional notion and threaten Galileo to kill him.

In conclusion, by challenging an argument, the author can use the idea of people with critical thinking to bolster his argument. On the other hand, it is true that persuading opposite view might not be the best way to show the merit of an argument, since some people are stubborn and have strong opinion about their beliefs.