The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given statement, the budget planner suggested that since the symphony has succeeded in absorbing audience, it is getting sustained financially and the local government should hinder its financial supports to the symphony. The conclusion is replete with unwarranted assumptions, which considering together make the argument unconvincing.

To begin with, the author concluded that because the symphony has reached apex of audience in its outdoor summer concert performs, it can cover all expenses and it does not need supports. Perhaps, attendants of summer concert were a lot due to tourists and not permanent residents. As a result, hike in number of audience may not be consistent in other seasons and the symphony confronted financial problems again. Also, possibly since in summer schools are closed and weather is good, people of Grandview tend to go outdoor concerts to promote their children spiritually, while in other seasons they are not keen on go to concert. Hence, the audience will be decline and the symphony will need financial supports. To strengthen the conclusion, he should provide quantified data about number of audience in different seasons of past years.

Furthermore, the author assumes that because of private contributions have tripled, the symphony became independent financially. Perhaps, the number of private contributions were only two and now after became tripled it is six which are few yet. On the other hand, the amount of donation is more important than number of donors. It is likely that the amount of money they help to the symphony is insignificant and the symphony is not able to be self-sustained. To bolster the proposal, the author should give information about the amount of money given by private contributions.

Finally, the author indicated that because of prominent conductor and his efforts to attract high-profile guest musicians, the audience of symphony augmented. It is a crucial question that if the famous conductor disband, what will be happen for the symphony. The budget planner assumes that the conductor will work for Grandview’s symphony forever, thus it is not a convincing assumption. Moreover, it is true that conspicuous musicians absorb more audience too, although they are usually high paid persons and the author did not point out about their wages. It might be even with absorbing many audience, the symphony could not cover the wages of musicians. To strengthen the argument, the author should make clear the equivocal conditions of conductor and guest musicians.

In conclusion, to champion the conclusion, the author should provide more quantified data about income and expenses of the symphony in different seasons of past years in order to comparison. Additionally, he ought to give some information about the number of donors and more importantly the amount of donation. It is also suggested that the author explains about the prospective position of conductor in the symphony.