Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given argument, manager of KICK, a radio station in Medway, propose that by dedicating more time to call-in advice program, he will obtain a large audience share in its listening area. The proposal seems convincing at first sight, however, some questions are raised which need to be addressed before serious consideration on the proposal.

There is a crucial question whether increasing in number of call-in advice program is the main reason of significant increase in audience of WCQP or not. It might be a kind of false cause and effect and two events happened coincidently, hence augmenting number of audience may have another reason. Perhaps WCQP has enhanced its facilities and as a result more people are able to get the frequency band of station. It is likely that WCQP has employed an accomplished councilor who can draw more audience. Maybe, audience are listening WCQP due to sport programs or music not call-in advice programs. To strengthen the argument, it is highly suggested that manager of KICK does a comprehensive research to find out what the underlying reason of success in WCQP is.

Additionally, even if the survey is reliable and representative enough, the author could not conclude that the result of a nationwide survey is guaranteed in a specific region. Perhaps, the demography of people in Medway is completely different from all the nation. For example, a big fraction of Medway are young people who are interested in music rather advisory programs, or, many of them are educated people thus they are looking for didactic programs. Also, there is a fallacy of faulty analogy in the argument. The author supposed the demography and audience’s interests are alike in both cities of Medway and Rockville, however, it is possible to be different completely. Although, KICK is looking for more audience, he did not mention anything about its rivals. Maybe, KICK is the only radio station in Medway and its competitors are internet and TV channels thus to obtain more audience, it must consider their programs. To address these questions, the author should conduct a survey to ask local people about their favorite programs on radio and represent more information about other stations in Medway.

Moreover, the author do not provide any quantified data. For example, what is the current condition of call-in advice program? This kind of program included how many percentage of all programs? Maybe, it is enough now and if the manager dedicate more for call-in advice program it affects number of audience adversely. More dedicated time for call-in advice program surely will reduce time for other program and it will loss these audience and may bring about reduction in number of all audience. In addition, the manager of KICK needs to consider the ability of his staff. Perhaps, there is no accomplished councilor among them to captivate more audience, in contrast of WCQP which has experienced staff in counselling field. To strengthen his proposal it is recommended to present current situation of KICK in quantitative and qualitative data.

In conclusion, the argument could be more sensible if the manager does research on the main reason of increasing number audience of WCQP, conduct a local survey on interesting program of Medway people and consider current condition of KICK from view of call-in advice program and his staff.