Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s turbulent world, it is very difficult for us to determine the best way to help the world. This sparks a controversial issue that how governments should allocate their budget. In this regard, some people believe that governments should raise funds for art programs. However, I go along with people who think that governments should spend money to protect our environment. Because the environmental issues affect the life of whole living creatures and also the private sectors are eager to raise funds for art projects.

We are certainly living in a society where the arts are severely underfunded. But, the environmental problems are turning to a vital issue which threatens the lives on our planet. The danger is so close that it not only jeopardize the lives of animals and plants but the lives of humans, as well. The recent bush firing in Australia is compelling evidence of this. The fire burned enormous areas that it has never happened before. By far, it is larger than the wildfire in Amazon and Los Angeles and the damages are so massive that it seems it is irreparable. Moreover, about half a billion animals including Kangaroos and Koalas have died. Because Australia is an isolated continent, it is the habitat of a huge diversity of floras and faunas that we cannot find them in other places of our planet. Therefore, the bush fire put all of them in danger of extinction. In addition, the fire killed many humans and forced them to leave their homes so they could save their lives. As a result, the environmental issues affect our lives significantly and for bringing it back to balance a lot of money is needed which only governments could afford.

Furthermore, humankind inherently has a vested interest in art and many people around the world tend to pay for artistic pieces. In addition, most of the time, the needed money to preserve the environment is so huge that individuals are not able to pay the expenses so, the government’s budget can only afford them. On the other hand, nowadays, art is a kind of commercial industry and in many cases it is lucrative, therefore, many people are eager to invest in art projects. Thus, they do not need governments' financial aids. For instance, the filmed entertainment industry makes fortunes annually and actors, actresses, directors, and etc. are among the wealthy people of their nations. As a result, the art is not in desperate need, in contrast, our environment is in a so poor condition that if we don’t fund to preserve it, we will face huge predicaments in not-so-distant future.

In conclusion, I argue in favor of the opinion that governments should allocate their budget for the environment. Because our future lives on Earth depends on keeping it in balance and also artists can convince the investors to raise the funds they need.