The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The marketing manager of Top Dog Pet states that if their company begin advertising in the Exotic Pets, which is a monthly magazine, they will hinder downward trend in the selling and their company will be lucrative. The argument relies on a series of unwarranted assumptions, which considering together make the argument wholly unconvincing.

To begin with, the author count on the efficacious impact of advertising on sales of Fish Emporium. It might be a false causation and it is just a coincidence, thus sales increasing in Fish Emporium may have caused by different reasons. To illustration, the board of management may have changed and new persons selected a new strategy for selling the products. Since, they decided to offer significant bargain on their fishes or they offer food of fishes as a gift to their customers who buy fish as pet. To bolster the argument, the author needs to find realistic reasons of increasing sales in Fish Emporium.

The author assumes that people of Gulf City read the Exotic Pets magazine and they are able to see the advertisement. In addition, another crucial assumption is that advertisements affect people when they are making decision. It is possible that aforementioned magazine do not publish in Gulf City at all or few people receive it, thus, it cannot affect the decision of residents of Gulf City. Furthermore, it is a vital question that which kind of advertisement have the most impression on them: magazines, media or billboards. To bolster the argument, it is suggested that the manager do comprehensive research to find the most effective ways in order to make impression on people of Gulf City.

Also, the author commits a classic form of false analogy. It is true that both company are working in pet industry, but their products are completely different; one selling the fish, another one selling the dog. It might be having a beautiful aquarium is getting privilege in design of newly constructed homes while having a dog as pet is getting outmoded. Hence, it would be haste to conclude that advertisement in the magazine would lead to selling dogs more. Also, there is another unproved assumption which is increasing in amount of selling would bring about profit. Probably, even if Top Dog Pet increases its selling income, it cannot neither cover the expenses nor be lucrative. Consequently, to strengthen the argument, quantified data about current selling income, expenses and prospective of both is required.

To wrath it up, the manager of Top Dog Pet can champion his proposal by providing some information such as new trend in pet industry, most effective way in advertisement and targeted people of the company to sell products. In the meantime, by adding some financial information he is able to make a sensible conclusion.