The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president at Climpson Industries claims that the restriction of usage of private sites should enhance the company performance and would further increase the overall profits. Stated in this way, the vice president failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify it further, the author reasons that through the restriction of shopping and gaming sites, employee can devote more time for the company's work and thus would probably increase the company profits. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little creditable support to vice president claim. Hence, the argument can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, it would be necessary to know about the current profits of the company. If the company is already earning a lot of profit then unnecessary monitoring of employee is noting but the wasting of money. Moreover, many employees need a relaxation in between the work by playing games on computer or through online shopping. Blocking of such sites could creates more frustration amongst employees and it can impact the work culture of the company and could lead to resignation of many productive employees. Hence, vice president have to think more in terms of employees mentality about the electroinc monitoring and blocking of sites.

Furthermore, there are various other ways to enhance the company's profits like increasing working hours of company, getting more business for the company etc. Just the blocking of sites doesn't assure that people spent most of their time for doing company's work. Moreover, these softwares contains some yearly subscription which is costly and may be their unnecessary installtion could reduce the company profits by creating more frustration amongst the employees due to lack of access to private sites. For instance, if the company is a high tech company which uses a lot of coding and programming practices then they expect people to work free minded and thus due to this restriction employees minds could also been restricted to work. Hence, the vice president needs to consider other ways for profit also. Just the installation of monitoring softwares doesn't adequately lead to increase in profits.

Admittedly, installation of monitoring softwares reduces the amount of unnecessary time which people daily spends but rather due to installation of such softwares, they can give their relaxation time for other games available in the company like table tennis, foosball, carreom etc. and which could ultimately decline the company profits. Thus, making employee as free as possible is the best way for employee as well as company to work effectively. Hence, vice president should consider other aspects of employees as well before enforcing this regulation.

In conclusion, the vice president's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the vice president should provide better concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of reliable analysis of current profits of company. Finally to better assess the claim, it would be necessary to know more about the other aspects to increase the company profits apart from restriction of sites through electronic monitoring.