The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From the dawn of human life, mankind is continuously evolving themselves physically and mentally. The topic raises a controversial issue that whether the main advantage from learning history is to remove the thinking that people are different in earlier times or not. Indisputably, some characters and habits are genetically gained which people are gaining from their ancetors. Nevertheless, human have evolved themselves a lot with respect to ancient times. Thus, it is insignificant to compare people living now with the humans of ancient times.

First of all, humans are the only people in the world who has the capability to think and then decide what to do. Due to their thinking, they are continuously evolving themselves in every aspect of life. For example, people of Great Britain would like to wear formal clothing in their earlier times. But now a days, they're pretty much interested in wearing causual clothing. Furthermore, ancient people are the people who always keep their word whatever they say, but now instead, people are much involved in fake promises which they would never been able to kept. Thus there is a huge difference in lifestyle of people in earlier times with respect to current world.

History is a great subject which taught us about the ancient people and their lives. When we compare those people with our lives, they were far more different from people living now. People now a days are much more dependent on technology apart from earlier times. Technology has changed the view people use to think and live their life. For instance, earlier people of 19th century would like to spend their time in listening music from radio, but now a days, people have ipods and smartphones with great noise cancellation power. There are so many apsects in which people differ from earlier times which are uncountable. All those lifestyle and cultures were only known by knowing their history.

Although there are a vast number of advantages about learning history like it gives a basic idea about a nation and its culture, the main benefit is to know about people living in hoary times so that we can compare themselves with current people. Furthermore, it reveals the names of some great people who have contributed a lot to their nation. Like Mahatma Gandhi, a great Indian leader in the midst of 90's. He had overthrew a whole empire without even a little bit of violence. Moreover, The great leader Abrahim Lincon was known as the most noble person in the history of America even after his involvement in the fierciest war America has even fought. These things are only known after studying the history of a specific nation.

In conclusion, although there are other sources from which we get to know about the earlier times like the stories from our ancestors about lifestyle of people living in earlier days, history taught us most about the lifestyle of people and how they've evolved from generation to generation. Although, there are other benefits as well of knowing history like it gives us the general idea about the nation, its culture and various languages used in that nation, the main advantage of it is to teach us significantly about the ancient lives of people so that we can compare the evolution of humans with respect to the world.