The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Dura-Sock Incorporation claims that discontinuing of socks which are manufactured by Endure manufacturing process could lead to enhance in profits. Stated in this way, the vice president failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify the claim, the vice president mentioned that since people are more interested in purchasing Dura-socks, the company should spend their efforts in manufacturing those socks instead of their patent manufactured socks. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence shows that it provides a little creditable support to vice president's recommendation. Hence the claim should be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the vice president didn't mention anything about how recently the survey has been conducted. Possibly if the survey has been conducted last year or in any off season like summer when people are not interested in wearing socks, then it would be inadequate to stop the use of Endure manufacturing process. Furthermore, the exact amount of people who have purchased Dura-Socks and its comparison with socks manufactured from Endure manufacturing process should be given in order to know whether discontinuing of Endure manufacturing could makes a profit to the company or it provides a great loss to the company. Thus, if the vice president had conducted a survey which shows the number of people who are using both variety of socks, then it could make the argument more cogent.

Furthermore, the vice president had surveyed the largest market of northeastern United States cities in order to get the detailed study about the use of Dura-Socks. However, the vice president failed to mention the exact number of customers surveyed. If the number of customers are low, then it would be inadequate to say that the Dura-Socks are much in current fashion. In that case, it's not a good idea to stop manufacturing the socks from Endure manufacturing, which if followed, can cause bankruptcy to the company. Hence, the vice president needs to provide some more information about their customer base in northeastern United States cities to make the claim convincing.

Finally, the vice president needs to analyze the areas where people like the socks which are manufactured from Endure manufacturing process. Moreover, the impact of stop manufacturing the socks should also be taken care of. May be possible that their discontinuing of Endure manufacturing process may responsible decline in their sales and some other comapny can take over their clients.

In conclusion, the vice president's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it futher, the vice president must provide better concrete evidences, either by the way of detailed analysis about the exact number of customer base who uses both variety of socks. Finally, to better assess the claim, some more information about the areas should also be provided which uses either types of socks. Using that information the estimation can be done about the various branches of Dura-Sock Inc, that whether we can discontinue the Endure Manufacturing for that perticular area or not.